Thank you for your feedback!

Past Brava Award Winners

Each year we identify “Women of Excellence” in our state who have made an impact by their service to others and celebrate them at our annual Brava! Award Banquet. Following are our previous years’ honorees:


WUC Community Civic Leaders

  • Catherine Gibson
  • Frances Heaverlo
  • Karen Lane
  • Pearl Noreen
  • Carolyn Quatier
  • Karen Wong


  • Leslie Jackson Chihuly, President Chihuly Studios and Advocate for the Arts
  • Janet Jones Preston, Global Humanitarian and Community Leader
  • Megan Karch, CEO, FareStart


  • Sara Boos, Artistic Director, Northwest Girlchoir
  • Barbara Earl Thomas, Noted Artist, Writer and Former Director of the African American Museum
  • Trina Westerlund, Founder, Children’s Institute for Learning Differences


  • Sheila Capestany, Founder, Open Arms Perinatal Services
  • Margaret Larson, Broadcast Journalist and Host, KING 5 TV’s New Day Northwest
  • Mary Yu, Washington State Supreme Court Justice


Women of the Century

  • Dorothy C Bullitt
  • Dorothy Stimson Bullitt
  • Harriet Overton Bullitt
  • Katharine “Kay” Muller Bullitt
  • Priscilla “Patsy” Bullitt Collins


  • Janis Avery, CEO, Treehouse for Kids
  • The Honorable Bobbe J Bridge, Founder and CEO, Children & Youth Justice
  • Maureen Browning, Founder, Friendship Adventures


(Ten-year reunion celebration; no awards given)


  • Maggie Walker, Civic Leader and Philanthropist
  • Luly Yang, Fashion Designer and Entrepreneur
  • Sister Kathleen Ross and Martha Yallup, Founders, Heritage College in Yakima


  • Kathy Johanson and Stacy Lill, Founders and Owners, O Wines Winery
  • Lisa Brummel and Ginny Gilder, Ownership Team Seattle Storm
  • Anne Levinson and Dawn Trudeau, Ownership Team Seattle Storm


  • Jennifer James, Urban Cultural Anthropologist
  • Jane Jones, Founder, Book-It-Theatre
  • Jean Walkinshaw, Producer


  • Jane Hastings, Architect
  • Deborah Jacobs, Seattle City Librarian
  • Patrinell “Pat” Wright, Founder, Total Experience Gospel Choir


  • Barbara Bennett, Founder, First Place School
  • Anne Gould Hauberg, Arts & Education Activist
  • Karen Moyer, Co-founder, The Moyer Foundation for Children in Distress


  • Marja Brandon, Founder and Executive Director, Seattle Girls’ School
  • Katharine “Kay” Bullitt, Noted Seattle Civic Leader and Community Activist
  • Dr. Bonnie J Dunbar, President and CEO, Seattle’s Museum of Flight


  • Dr. Linda Buck, 2004 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine
  • Assunta Ng, Publisher, NW Asian Weekly
  • Colleen Willoughby, President and Founder, Washington Women’s Foundation


  • Jeanne Ehrlichman Bluechel, Music Education Activist
  • Linda Hartzell, Artistic Director, Seattle Children’s Theatre
  • Nancy Pearl, Director, Washington Center for the Book


  • Virginia Anderson, Director, Seattle Center
  • Francia Russell, Co-Artistic Director, Pacific NW Ballet
  • Rita Ryder, Director, Snohomish and King County YWCA